Monday morning comics

I was originally going to post a long rant about this under some inflammatory headline, but thought the following when I woke up:

  1. I don’t have much to add to the general horror of this or discussion, other than a long hollow wail
  2. No one wants to read about this case, or my associated wailings, first thing on a Monday
  3. Much better to look at comics.

So I flicked through a cartoons of Kate Beaton, with whom I’ve recently become obsessed, and pasted a couple vaguely relevant ones below.

They don’t exactly illustrate playwork as such.  Because they’re conversations between the cartoonist and her younger self, they are more interested in clashes between the interests and assumptions of adulthood in contradiction to those of childhood – and in how the adult relates to the child self within.  By blocking her younger self’s playful engagement with the world, older Kate sets the stage for a clash.

Kate may not be a good playworker to her younger self, but she does show how childhood memories can sneak up on you with enormous power.

Play memories (and the astoundingly poignant materials that summon up their ghosts) are our own buried treasure, as playworkers and as human beings.

More comics available through her website, Hark, a Vagrant!, where she covers historical and literary figures (in addition to the career potential of racing tigers).

Have a great Monday!

4 thoughts on “Monday morning comics

  1. I am so glad to find some else who loves Kate Beaton and sees the links with the ‘younger self’ and playwork. I remember first finding her comics and having to read them all from the beginning in one sitting.
    Wonderful stuff!
    Thanks for all your insightful writings too, I often find myself popping over here to see your perspective.
    Lily

    1. Then you’ll have seen I’ve added you to the links!

      It’s really good to see what you’ve been up to as well – so far as I know, we’re the only blogging playworkers around. If you fancy a mutual interview or cross-post, send me an email.

  2. I think I have been called a “blogging playworker” before, only not in such polite circumstance.
    I love the idea of swapping and sharing ideas. I’ll pop you an email.
    Lily

  3. http://dahnbatchelorsopinions.blogspot.com/2011/01/can-children-be-sued-for-damages-of.html

    This old Canadian dude and retired lawyerene says, on the case of the negligent 4 and three-quarters year old racers (because the three quarters make all the difference) :
    “Let me quote what one person said about suing the child in the aforementioned case.
    ‘I can understand suing the parents for damages, and holding the parents (who were supervising) legally accountable for damages if it could be found that they were demonstrably negligent…but saying that a child of age four who is innocently riding a bicycle for the first time is mentally and emotionally capable of making legal decisions for themselves beyond the supervision of their parents, and is mentally and emotionally capable of standing trial for those decisions is absolutely ridiculous and a farce!’

    “That observation makes a lot of sense.”

Leave a Reply

